Car tinting regulations in Louisiana has been in effect for a long time. When adding a tint to your car in Louisiana, you have to follow a specific set of rules. This article will talk about the window tint rules in Louisiana.
Keep in mind that the higher the percentage of VLT, the higher the amount of light passes through.
There are different rules for each type of car in regard to the window tint law. You can also get a medical exemption to this law and you can find more details about it below.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Louisiana?
There are different rules on the Louisiana window tint law depending on the type of car.
Sedans can only have reflective tint on the top five inches of their windshield. The windows on the front should allow 40% of the light inside, and the windows at the back should allow at least 25% of the light inside. Your windows on the rear must allow 12% of the light inside.
If you have an SUV or Van, your windshield can have a tint that is not reflective on the top five inches. Your Windows on the Front should allow at least 40% of the light inside. For the backside and windows on the rear, you can use any tint darkness.
What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In LA?
If you have a passenger vehicle, the darkest tint you can have is 12% VLT on your back windshield. You must also follow the other specific rules for passenger vehicles.
However, if you have a multi-purpose vehicle, you can have any tint darkness on your back windshield and rear passenger windows.
Is 20 Tint Illegal In LA?
If you have a passenger vehicle, you can only use less than 20 tint if you are using them on your back windshield. Your back windshield has a minimum of 12% VLT. Your rear passenger window must allow at least 25% of the light inside.
However, multi-purpose vehicles can have any tint darkness on their back windshield and rear passenger windows. You cannot have amber and red colored tints in Louisiana.
Do take note that 20 tint is illegal for most states and can cause visibility issues when you are driving.
Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Louisiana?
If you are not following the tint regulations in Louisiana, you can get pulled over. Louisiana also requires the tint installer to place a sticker that indicates your tint is legal in your driver’s side window.
If you installed a darker tint because of medical reasons, you must have your medical exemption affidavit with you. You should also have a special sticker on your vehicle that signifies you are medically exempted.
How Much Is A Tint Ticket In LA?
Not following the rules and regulations for the window tint in Louisiana can lead to a tint ticket. If you do not have the certified sticker on your window, you can get pulled over. The first offense penalty is $150.
If you get pulled over for the second time for violating the Louisiana window tint laws, you can get find for $250. For the third and following violations, you can get find for $350 so make sure your dealership uses authorized and legal tint.
Car Tint Darkness In Louisiana
Depending on your vehicle, you need to follow different tint darkness for windows rules in Louisiana. Sedans and passenger vehicles can only use a minimum of 12% VLT on their rear or back windshield.
SUV, Vans, or Multi-purpose vehicles do not have any tint darkness limit on their rear passenger side windows and back windshield. However, all cars are not allowed to have red and amber tint.
For Passenger Vehicles
- Windshield: Your front windshield can only have a tint that is not reflective above the manufacturer’s AS1 or on the top five inches. Your back windshield must allow at least 12% of the light inside.
- Windows On The Front: Your Windows on the front must allow at least 40% of the light inside your vehicle.
- Windows On The Back: Your windows on the back should permit over 25% of the light inside your vehicle. Red and amber tint on all parts of the car is prohibited.
- Windows On The Rear: For passenger vehicles, their windows on the rear should permit over 12% of the light inside.
For Multi-purpose Vehicles Or MPV
- Windshield: You are allowed to have a tint that is not reflective on the top five inches of your front windshield or above the manufacturer’s AS1.
- Windows On The Front: For multi-purpose vehicles, their tint should permit over 40% of the light inside.
- Windows On The Back: There is no restriction on the tint darkness for the windows on the back. Red and amber tint on all parts of the car is prohibited.
- Windows On The Rear: There is no restriction on the tint darkness for the rear side window.
Car Tint Reflection In Louisiana
Having your car windows tinted can be useful to reflect incoming light and to cast off heat and glare. However, in Louisiana there are laws that dictate how much reflectivity you can have on your car windows.
For Passenger Vehicles
For both front side windows and back side windows, reflectivity must be less than 20%, if it’s a sedan.
For Multi-purpose Vehicles Or MPV
For both front side windows and back side windows, reflectivity must be under 20%, for your MPVs.
How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Louisiana?
You can get a medical exemption for the window tint law in Louisiana. If you have medical conditions like albinism, lupus, porphyria, or photophobia, you can ask for a medical exemption affidavit.
Your spouse or family member can also drive the car so long as you have a medical exemption sticker. This sticker must be displayed on the vehicle to signify that you are medically exempted from the window tint law.
All medical exemptions are reviewed every three years and people with criminal records are not eligible for medical exemptions. You can check more about the exemption here.
If you would like to install a window tint on your car in Louisiana, you must follow the window tint laws. You cannot have less than 12% VLT on sedans and SUVs and Vans can only have a minimum of 40% tint darkness on their windows on the front.
Amber and red tints are prohibited at all times. You must have a certified sticker on your window to show that you are following the Louisiana window tint laws.