Utah Car Window Tint Laws

Utah has various laws that regulate the tinting of the windows and windshields of your vehicles. The tinting laws of Utah have been in existence since 2005.

This article covers all that you need to know about the Utah tinting laws, how dark it can be, the level of reflection it can have, and other necessary things that you should know about.

Bear in mind that violating the tinting laws of Utah comes with a ticket and fine of fifty dollars.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Utah?

Generally speaking, yes, you are allowed to have tinted windows and windshields in Utah. However, there are restrictions to this and they vary per the type of vehicle you use or the specific window or windshield in question.

There are laws that specify how dark your tinted windows and windshields can be, there are also laws that specify how reflective your tinted windows and windshields can be.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In Utah?

The darkness of your tint is measured by the level of visible light transference. What this means is that the darker the tint of your vehicle, the lower the amount of light that permeates through the tint.

For your back side windows and rear windows, you can use a tint of any darkness. For your front side windows, your tint must allow at least 43% of light into the vehicle, no matter how dark your tint is.

However, for your back side windows and rear windows, you can use a tint of any percentage of darkness, according to the Utah tinting laws.

Is 20 Tint Illegal In UT?

Determining if 20 tint is illegal in Utah is based on which part of your vehicle you are specifically referring to. There are different laws that cover the different parts of your vehicles.

For your back side windows, and rear window, it is not illegal, as you can use a tint of any darkness. However, for front side windows, your tint must allow at least 43% of light into the vehicle.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Utah?

As long as you follow the tinting laws of Utah, it is very unlikely that you will get pulled over. However, if you violate any of these laws, you may end up getting pulled over and getting a ticket.

An officer can measure and confirm the darkness of your tint through a tint meter, which shows how much light is able to pass through your tint. Your visible light transmission percentage is the level of light that passes through your tint.

To avoid getting pulled over, make sure your visible light transmission percentage is in accordance with the law.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In UT?

A window tint ticket can cost as such as $50. Considering how much it will take you to get your entire vehicle tinted, paying a $50 dollar fine every now and then, because of your tinted windows does not sound like something exciting to do.

Window Tint Darkness In Utah

The level of your tint darkness in Utah varies, depending on the parts of the vehicle that is involved.

For Passenger Vehicle

  • Windshield: Only a non-reflective tint is allowed
  • Front Side Windows: More than 43% of light must be able to get into your vehicle, through your tint
  • Back Side Windows: You can use a tint of any percentage of darkness
  • Read Windows: You can use a tint of any percentage of darkness

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

  • Windshield: You can only use a non-reflective tint
  • Front Side Windows: More than 43% of light must be able to get into your vehicle, through your tint
  • Back Side Windows: You can use a tint of any percentage of darkness
  • Read Windows: You can use a tint of any percentage of darkness

Window Tint Reflection In Utah

Tints reflect the light that is coming into your vehicle, it also reduces the ray of the sun, the heat and glares. However, there are restrictions to how much reflective capacity your tint can have.

For Passenger Vehicle

  • Front Side Windows: You cannot have ay mirrored or metallic appearance
  • Back Side Windows: You cannot have any mirrored or metallic appearance

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

  • Front Side Windows: You cannot have any mirrored or metallic appearance
  • Back Side Windows: You cannot have any mirrored or metallic appearance

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Utah?

Currently, there are no laws or special provisions for you to be exempted from these laws. You cannot be exempted from these laws due to any medical reason.

Even when you get a signed letter from a certified physician, as at now, there is still no law that allows you to be exempted from the Utah tinting law.

If you feel this is unjust, you can file a petition to appeal for Utah tinting laws to be more inclusive.

Laws change over time and if you can successfully petition for a change in the Utah tinting law to be more inclusive, who knows? You may be the one to champion the change.

Conclusion

Many people in Utah use tinted windows and windshields for a lot of reasons. Some people use it because it reduces the ray of light from the sun that is entering into the vehicle. It also reflects all the incoming light. It reduces heat and makes the insides of our vehicle more comfortable.

There are different laws that cover the tint of your vehicle. These laws regulate how dark your tint can be and how much reflection of light it can wave away. It is important to be familiar with these laws as they will help you not to get into trouble with the transportation authority of Utah.

Written by Yusuke Kohara

Hi there! My name is Yusuke. I write about automotive topics for Car Proper. I love cars and have a passion for writing helpful articles on tools, car accessories, and how-to to help my readers solve their problems. In my spare time, I'm either working out, reading the book, or spending time with my family. I also work for a digital consulting agency.

Mississippi Car Window Tint Law

Arkansas Car Window Tint Laws