Missouri Car Window Tint Laws

Applying a tint to your window can give you extra privacy. However, depending on your state, you can be pulled over for tinting your windows. There are different limitations and rules for each state regarding window tint.

In this article, I will talk about the different rules that you would be better of knowing if you are planning to tint your car windows.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windows And Windshield In Missouri?

Enacted in 2002, the law does not prevent you from getting window tint for your car. However, there are specific instructions you must follow.

For your vehicle to legally operate, you must follow these window tint laws. Not following the window tint laws can get you pulled over for a ticket. The laws in Missouri state that you can have window tint as long as it allows 35% of light inside.

However, the front windshield should not be tinted at all. The only exception would be tinting the top portion of the car. Normally, the manufacturer tints the top portion of your car.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In MO?

There are different tint darkness level you can get depending on the window of your car. You cannot tint your front windshield except for the top part. However, you can use any tint darkness on your back and rear windows.

As for the front or passenger side windows, you are only allowed to have up to 35% tint darkness. Aside from this, your window tint should not reflect more than 35% of the light coming from outside.

Is 20 Tint Illegal In MO?

20 tint darkness is not illegal if you put them on your rear and back windows. You can use any tint darkness on these windows. However, your passenger or side window can only have up to 35 tint.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Missouri?

If you are not following the rules regarding window tinting in the state of Missouri, you can get pulled over for a ticket. While your rear and back windows can have any window tint darkness, they should also comply with the reflective law regulation.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In MO?

If your car is registered in Missouri, you can be fined $75. The officers can also give you a higher fine if you did not take your window tint off after the first ticket. Depending on the city you are in, you can get a ticket higher than $100.

Window Tint Darkness In Missouri

The only restriction Missouri has is on the front windshield and front windows of your car.

Your windshield should not have any tint except for its top part. This top part is called the AS-1 line. As for the front or passenger windows, their window tint should let 35 percent of the light inside. The passenger side windows should only reflect 35% of light coming from outside as well.

Below is the window tint darkness that is allowed depending on the type of car you have:

For Passenger Vehicles

  • Windshield: You cannot put any window tint on your front windshield except for the top five inches of your car. The window tint on the top part of your car should not be more than 35% reflective.
  • Front Side Windows: The front side window or passenger side window should let 35% of the light inside your car. You cannot go darker than 35 tint or have a tint more reflective than 35%.
  • Back Side Windows: There is no tint darkness restriction on the backside windows. However, if your back side window is tinted, you should have dual-side mirrors.
  • Rear Window: There is no tint darkness restriction on the rear windows. There are no tint color restrictions in Missouri as well.

For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)

  • Windshield: You cannot put any window tint on your front windshield except for the top five inches of your car. The window tint on the top part of your car should not be more than 35% reflective.
  • Front Side Windows: The front side window or passenger side window should let 35% of the light inside your car. You cannot go darker than 35 tint or have a tint more reflective than 35%.
  • Back Side Windows: There is no tint darkness restriction on the backside windows. However, if your back side window is tinted, you should have dual-side mirrors even if you have a multi-purpose vehicle.
  • Rear Window: There is no tint darkness restriction on the rear windows. There are no tint color restrictions for Multi-purpose vehicles.

Window Tint Reflection In Missouri

Missouri also has laws regarding the reflectiveness of your window tint. Tint reflection rules dictate how much your window tint reflects the incoming light from the outside.

Having a reflective tint can help reduce the heat of the sun and make your car more comfortable. However, there are restrictions on the amount of reflectiveness your vehicle can have.

Below are the following regulations regarding the window tint reflection in Missouri:

For Passenger Vehicle

  • Front Side Windows: You cannot use a tint that reflects more than 35% of the light coming from the outside
  • Back Side Windows: You cannot use a tint that reflects more than 35% of the light coming from the outside

For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)

  • Front Side Windows: You cannot use a tint that reflects more than 35% of the light coming from the outside
  • Back Side Windows: You cannot use a tint that reflects more than 35% of the light coming from the outside

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Missouri?

If you have a medical condition and need to have a window tint for your car, you can apply for a medical exception. Your physician should write about your specific condition and you must submit it to the police for approval.

Conclusion

You may think that adding a window tint to your car can provide extra privacy. However, if your window tint does not follow the regulations in Missouri, you can be fined or even serve time in jail. So before adding window tint to your car, check the regulations for your state.

Written by Yusuke Kohara

Hi there! My name is Yusuke. I write about automotive topics for Car Proper. I love cars and have a passion for writing helpful articles on tools, car accessories, and how-to to help my readers solve their problems. In my spare time, I'm either working out, reading the book, or spending time with my family. I also work for a digital consulting agency.

Minnesota Car Window Tint Laws

Mississippi Car Window Tint Law