New Hampshire (Manchester) Car Window Tint Laws

If you would like to apply window tints in the state of New Hampshire, you’d be better off knowing the laws first and foremost. This way, you can avoid any run-ins with the law, but enjoy the tints on your car and the protection, privacy, and comfort they offer.

Let’s get into it and explore the Window Tint Laws as per the state of New Hampshire.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In New Hampshire?

Tinted windows and windshields are essentially not allowed in the state of New Hampshire. The outlawing of window tints occurred over 30 years ago, in 1989.

For example, windshields are only permitted to have the top six inches tinted, and it can only be non-reflective tint with a VLT of 35%.

Your front side windows are not allowed to have any tints at all.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In NH?

The darkest tint legally permitted in the state of New Hampshire is 35%. You can only apply it to the rear windows at that, but those with disabilities or medical conditions can apply for window tinting.

Is 20 Tint Illegal In NH?

Yes, 20 tint is illegal in the state of New Hampshire. For those who don’t know, 20% tint is quite dark, and you would be able to see through the window so long as you were very close to the car.

This is far too dark for the state of NH and should be avoided unless you receive medical clearance.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In New Hampshire?

Yes, you absolutely can be pulled over in the state of New Hampshire for having tinted windows.

Here is one story (although it is a rather old one) about an individual who was stopped because the New Hampshire state trooper felt they could not see the driver inside the vehicle.

Secontly, there is information published right on the NH State Trooper website that describes the unlawfulness of window tinting except for medical reasons in the state of New Hampshire.

How Much is a Tint Ticket in NH?

According to the New Hampshire Uniform Fine Schedule, the cost of a New Hampshire Tint Ticket appears to be $93. This could vary based on your individual city or county, so be advised that this price could change. It would count as a nonmoving traffic violation.

Window Tint Darkness In New Hampshire

Here you will find information on window tint darkness for various vehicles in the state of New Hampshire.

Passenger vehicles refer to common family cars many of us own such as minivans, hatchbacks, sedans, crossover SUVs, and convertibles. Meanwhile, multi-purpose vehicles refer to pickup trucks, full-size SUVs, utility vans, and other vehicles commonly used for work purposes.

The phrase VLT refers to Visible Light Transmission and refers to the percentage of visible light that is permitted through your windows.

If you see a window that is being referenced as a percentage, this is the VLT measurement. For example, a 20% tint lets in 20% of the visible light through the tint film.

For Passenger Vehicle

  • Windshield: Unreflective tint with VLT of 35% is permitted on the upper 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Front Side Windows: No tints are allowed to be applied to the front side windows.
  • Back Side Windows: Must permit 35% of light to come through.
  • Rear Window: Must permit 35% of light to come through.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

  • Windshield: Unreflective tint with VLT of 35% is permitted on the upper 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Front Side Windows: No tints are permitted to be applied to front side windows.
  • Back Side Windows: Must let in greater than 35% of light.
  • Rear Window: Must let in greater than 35% of light.

It should be noted that there are no restrictions on color in the state of New Hampshire when it comes to window tints.

So, if you did get an exemption, you may freely choose your color. Stickers are also recommended but not required to notify law enforcement of legal tinting.

Window Tint Reflection In New Hampshire

Reflective window tint is great for providing drivers and passengers with extra privacy. These reflective tints allow you to see out of your car windows, but somebody standing outside your car cannot see inside.

They are great for keeping out the heat if you live in a very warm climate. Unfortunately, these are not permitted in the state of New Hampshire.

For Passenger Vehicle

  • Front Side Windows: No mirrored or metallic tints are permitted.
  • Back Side Windows: No mirrored or metallic tints are permitted.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

  • Front Side Windows: No mirrored or metallic tints are permitted.
  • Back Side Windows: No mirrored or metallic tints are permitted.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In New Hampshire?

For this one, we will review the actual State of New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles site.

Medical exemptions for window tints are available, but you would have to submit an application that is dated within 6 months as well as photocopies of the vehicle registrations of the motor vehicles you wish to have tints put on.

You may have two vehicles at maximum on that waiver. You are able to fax, or mail, the information to the DMV.

Once your application has been approved, you get a waiver that is valid for two years.

In order to renew your Tinted Window Medical Waiver, you must send in a new application that is signed by your doctor within six months of submission, plus photocopies of your vehicle registration.

You will not be assessed a fee to obtain this waiver.

Conclusion

Thank you for taking the time to learn about New Hampshire tinting laws. I hope this information has been helpful to you in learning how to legally and safely apply and enjoy tints to your vehicle as a New Hampshire resident. This way, drivers and law enforcement can all stay safe on the road.

Written by Yusuke Kohara

Hi there! My name is Yusuke. I write about automotive topics for Car Proper. I love cars and have a passion for writing helpful articles on tools, car accessories, and how-to to help my readers solve their problems. In my spare time, I'm either working out, reading the book, or spending time with my family. I also work for a digital consulting agency.

New Mexico (Albuquerque, Alamogordo, Gallup & Las Cruces) Car Window Tint Laws

Oregon (Portland) Car Window Tint Laws